Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I update, therefore I am.

Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005
9:35 p.m.
The weather got cold again. Very cold. I did my Latin homework just before class, and Lolly and I actually got another page of our children�s book translated. We feel that getting one sentence is a huge accomplishment, in an illustrated kid�s book yet, about a wombat. Oh well, we�re still at the kindergarten stage with this language, that�s for sure. We touched on the subjunctive, a �mood� of a verb. Latin doesn�t have a conditional tense, as does French, so the subjunctive serves that purpose. We won�t be tested on this, but Patsy wanted us to be familiar with it nonetheless, as we will meet it from time to time in our readings.

Lolly and I are becoming friends. We lunched in the loft and she told me that she bit the bullet and placed her profile in Yah00 singles, specifying rather narrowly the type of man she was interested in, particularly age (35-45), and level of education (post-graduate). She said that what it came down to was having someone she could talk to.

She placed the profile on Sunday, and got a hit on Monday, a university professor from a nearby American college (remember we are right near the Vermont border here). They exchanged a couple of emails, but she has been waiting several days for his reply and was getting rather anxious that something about her may have turned him off. I told her not to worry, she will get more hits and she�ll be able to pick and choose. But I admire her gumption to grab the bull by the horns in this manner. I don�t think I would be so bold.

The corrections come on apace. I have the luxury of updating because the laser printer has tied up the processor and I can do no work until this next section is extruded. It doesn�t look so bleak, although I still think I�ll be up a few nights next week getting those parts done. I have a Latin test on Tuesday on pronouns and I have no idea when I�ll study for it. Over breakfast Tuesday morning? Possibly.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>