Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Winter blahs? Already?

Saturday, Dec. 17, 2005
10:13 p.m.
I have returned from concert No. 1. It was awful, as I suspected it would be, people out of tune, singing wrong notes, wrong words, our fearless leader making rather terrible mistakes with the conducting, only being saved by our exemplary accompanist. I must give our francophone tenor credit for his reading as it was truly lovely, and he actually got the words right in his medieval carol solo for the very first time. Our director tells us to �shush� before beginning a piece (and I know she�s aiming this at me) and then she proceeds to crescendo herself. Oh well. The audience loved us, as always, and the reception afterwards was all right. Dinah�s mulled wine was fantastic, and I would have drunk more than one glassful if I had not been driving myself. Perhaps tomorrow night when Hubby comes I�ll get rightly snockered.

In the meantime, today was mostly spent feeling sorry for myself. It must be hormonal. I can�t attribute it to anything else as I think I�m getting enough sleep and I don�t have the stress of school hanging over me anymore (well, except for my own students� grades, but they�re not urgent). I still have this annoying dry cough from the cold I got a couple of weeks ago which has left my middle register rather hoarse. Now I sound like a blues singer!

I looked out at the audience tonight, mostly old people, all townies or locals, enjoying our pitiful musical attempts heartily, and I feel rather bad about my decision to leave the group. But I know that they will survive without me (sopranos being as easily come by as the common cold). I have to do what is right for me.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>