Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Food, glorious food!

Sunday, Aug. 17, 2008
11:32 p.m.
My husband was 23 when he married me, and last night we went to a reception following the nuptials of a couple of other 23-year-olds, one of whom I have known since he was a preschooler attending the same nursery school as Little Princess. They wed in a private ceremony attended only by their witnesses, but came back to party with their friends in the backyard behind one of the antique shops in town where the groom’s best friend lives.

In the true spirit of this internet age, the wedding reception was a Facebook event and, since I am a friend to both of them (the bride and I were in Latin class together), I was on the guest list. Hubby and I arrived after the party was in full swing but before the guests of honour returned. It was a lovely evening and the mosquitoes weren’t biting that badly. One couple had brought their baby who was very well behaved. I got to hold him for a while before my arms got tired and I handed him to someone else.

Hubby and I were the only “elders” there. The father of the baby is not yet 30, so that made him next in line. I greeted all the young people warmly, the ones I knew, and I saw a young man I hadn’t seen all year, not since his graduation, and whom I had missed quite a bit. Hubby was a little put off that I knew these kids and that I seemed to feel so comfortable with them when he himself felt that he was definitely out of his generation. However, after he’d started drinking he became more comfortable. Funny how that works.

We didn’t stay very late. Buddy Boy at one point looked like he was ready to pass out, so we said our goodbyes and took him home where he did, in fact, pass out, but at least it was in his own bed.

Today I was up early and went shopping for supplies. I bought a dozen salmon steaks, blueberries, strawberries, coloured peppers, frozen corn, new potatoes, French cheeses and crackers. In the afternoon I prepared a feast: barbecued new potatoes, grilled peppers with lime (like fajitas), marinated salmon steaks done on the grill, corn sautéed in the wok with garlic, cayenne and cumin and other seasonings, and a blueberry-strawberry cobbler. There were 11 of us at table, young and old, Hubby’s friends, Little Princess’ friends and Buddy Boy’s friends. Everything was delicious and almost everything was eaten up. There are still some salmon steaks left and a few servings of the cobbler. Tomorrow’s supper is made.

My bed looks really inviting about now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>