Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Back to the munane.

Friday, Aug. 17, 2007
9:56 p.m.
Life is back to the humdrum: laundry, cooking meals, shopping. At least I’ve started practising again, alternating madness with despair. I have mentioned this before, but as no one remembers what people write in their blogs anyway, I shall repeat myself. I’m allowed to at this age anyway.

I’m planning a recital which will take place early in the new year called Songs of Madness & Despair, and the repertoire will entail arias and art songs which reflect those emotions. To this end I’m preparing both Pamina’s aria and the Queen of the Night’s vengeance aria from Mozart’s little singspiel, the mad scene from Lucia, the Willow Song from Rossini’s Otello (most people prefer the Verdi, but I already know the other), Dido’s Lament, and then songs from the art song repertoire, including several Schubert Lieder(Erlkönig, of course, as well as Gretschen) and Fauré mélodies. This sounds pretty depressing, I know, but it’s such great music and will be such a challenge for me to pull off.

Well, for my encore (don’t tell, all right?) I downloaded today the sheet music for the Galaxy Song from M. Python’s The Meaning of Life. I thought this would be the perfect way to ensure that my audience members left the hall feeling rather perky and not inclined to throw themselves off the nearest railroad bridge. Although I can think of a few who might do that anyway. Oh well.

So tonight Buddy Boy and I went to see his sister’s band play at Shazzzamfest (zzz intended). It was outdoors, poorly attended, and it got cold. However, I did get to see a dear friend of mine who graduated last spring and whom I haven’t seen since he was sitting two rows in front of us at the jazz festival. I didn’t realize how much I’d missed him until I saw him again.

And that’s it. Toodles.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>