Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Marks and tendrils left the snow gone.

Sunday, Apr. 17, 2005
10:32 p.m.
Ah, the end of another glorious day. As I was saying to bindyree the other night, sure winter is long here, but once we get spring, it�s well worth the wait. Well, maybe I didn�t say it just that way, but you get the point.

The piano recital last night was okay. I say that because although the young pianist in question got through her programme with much panache, there were quite a few note mistakes and heavy-handed treatment of the material. Her Bach was stiff and the three movements of the Grieg concerto that she played were bombastic and not sensitively done at all. My favourite piece on her programme was the Barber. She did a nice job of that one.

Tonight we heard a cello recital, and this one also came up wanting. Her Bach suite was too lugubrious, and you could tell that she was not really having fun with it. Just before the Sarabande she let out an audible sigh which spoke volumes. But she looked fabulous! Her mom and brother made a great reception following with the best guacamole I have ever eaten (they�re Mexican, by the way).

The weather today was once again perfect. I hung out another load of laundry (I think I do entirely too much laundry) and went around the yard collecting the garbage which somehow accumulates when other people�s recycling boxes are not packed properly. I know it wasn�t mine since there were boxes from products I never use and pages of newspapers in French. Our lawn could still use a good raking, and there is lots of detritus left over from the fall. Eventually we will get out there with the shovels and rakes and implements of destruction and clean up that mess.

This afternoon I had a long and luxurious nap, dreaming about sex (of all things) with someone I have never met and with whom that sort of activity would be so wrong! As long as it stays in my dreams I am still a virtuous woman, right? Then I had a long conversation via the internet (wonderful invention, the internet) with another friend, someone I haven't chatted with in ages, and I came to the conclusion that I�m a pretty good parent, or maybe I�m not really that good a parent, but at least I am a friend to my kids. I have always been acutely aware that although they came from me, they are not mine and have to learn to find their own way in life, make mistakes, and just get on with it. My young friend of this afternoon, unfortunately, is in a position where her parents make all her decisions for her, belittle her concerns, and have no idea that what they are doing hinders her development instead of teaching her how to become a productive adult in society. I feel so stymied. If I could, I would adopt her. But I can�t.

My suitcase is getting packed! Woo hoo! Cowtown, here we come!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>