Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Gotta keep on moving, blues fallin� down like hail.

Friday, Sept. 16, 2005
7:42 p.m.
It has been one of those days where the title of a blues song is most fitting as a header. First I wasted over an hour online trying to order Micr0s0ft Office for Macint0sh unsuccessfully. The G5 came with a demo version which ran out very quickly, and I finally decided I would bite the bullet and buy the thing. It�s not as easy as it looks. Firstly, I kept being directed to the US Micr0s0ft site, which would direct me to retailers who would not ship to Canada.

Finally I found a Canadian site with Canadian retailers, but they would not ship me the one priced for students/teachers. This went on a very long time. I finally phoned CDW (which is what MacWareh0use became) and bought it over the phone. It was more costly than online, and I have to pay for shipping, but it�s still less than the regular price.

This caused me to eat a late lunch, which I was doing while I was on the phone with the pleasant operator at CDW, when I had to jump up suddenly because the wood guy was delivering wood, and I had to get the car out of the garage or it�d be boxed in. Next I called CAA and they sent a tow truck to get the Volvo out of the driveway (before the next load of wood arrived) and off to the garage, where it now sits awaiting repairs. It�s a sad, sad thing when the car that has served you faithfully and well (yeah, right, like all the times it wouldn�t start last winter, or when the rear differential blew up on the highway, or the alternator self-destructed mid-trip) for 13 years needs to be laid to rest or at least sold as a �handyman�s delight�.

But I want to direct you all to this entry by theswordsman. I found it by chance because his banner intrigued me, and felt that his message was important enough to spread around to the Diaryland community.

And now the lovely ashahands has tagged me and I must respond.

Ten years ago I was:

Looking after small children, teaching singing at the university, performing my one concert a year, being a wife and mom.

Five years ago I was:

Doing the same as the above, except that my children were bigger.

One year ago I was:

See above, except I guess I didn�t need to look after the children that much anymore. Oh, and I had started a diary at Diaryland, so I had made a whole bunch of new friends, and even then I was spending too much time in the Diaryland chatroom.

Yesterday I was:

In the bathtub (aaaaah), online, singing in choir, online some more, rehearsing blues with Hubby and Mike, and I think that�s it.

Five snacks I enjoy:

Bread with hummus
Dried fruit (apricots, dates, figs)
A strong cup of tea
Fresh fruit
Pistachio nuts

Five songs I know all the words to:

(This is where I show my age)
Four Strong Winds
Blowing in the Winde
Leavin� on a Jet Plane
All of Me
The Highwayman (as arranged by Phil Ochs)

Five things I would do with $100 million dollars:

Make it so Hubby could quit his job at the university and just compose
Fund an orchestra (it wouldn�t go far, unfortunately)
Feed and educate a third-world country
Provide medical care, including birth control, to the above
Have a big party for all my Diaryland friends

Five places I would run away to:

Paris
Nafplio
Vancouver
Tobago
Quebec City

Five things I would never wear:

Anything that exposes my belly below my navel
A moo-moo
Platform boots
Crotchless panties (although I have fantisized about them)
Angora (I had a sweater once and I swear I was allergic to it)

Five favorite T.V. shows:

Simpsons
Futurama
All the StarTrek series (except the original)
Daily Edition
Malcolm in the Middle

Five bad habits:

Picking my nose
Squeezing my blackheads (yes, I still get them)
Constantly playing with my hair
Correcting other people�s grammar
Forgetting that my students don�t really care that I care

Five biggest joys:

My kids
My husband
Diaryland
Singing
Writing

Five favorite toys;

The iMac G5
I have no other toys.

Five fictional characters I would have coffee and a marvelous time with:

None. Sorry.

Five fellow readers I tag:

I can�t do this to you guys.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>