Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

And he shall putrify.

Friday, Nov. 16, 2007
10:23 p.m.
The first thing I heard this morning upon awakening was Little Princess calling out, “Dad! Did you see all the snow outside?” Sure enough, the grass and the roofs and tree branches were all sporting a coat of white, the first snowfall of the season. I never did get the leaves and pine needles raked up after my last attempt, and I’m hoping we get a thaw so I can finish that job before the snow comes to stay. Right now it looks like this may be it, and my widget projects very low lows over the weekend. Brrrrr!

I betook myself to the studio recital at noon today and sat through one pianist (my friend Ollie) and four singers, two of whom studied with me their first year and then absconded to GD. They have forgotten everything they ever learned in my studio, to their detriment, and I have to shake my head. I just don’t get it. Sure, GD gets them to memorize lots and lots of repertoire, and there’s some method in that: it forces them to practise lots in order to learn it. But they never seem to really get any actual technique under their belts and resort to bad habits in order to circumvent their shortcomings.

Yes, I know, I sound like a catty soprano, and I guess that’s exactly what I am. I’m also somewhat pissed at the situation in the department right now, as you may realize if you’ve been reading my diary for the past week or so, and I like to vent. To add to this, the alto who chose to study with GD has been avoiding me ever since she made that decision. I still don’t know what the whole story is there, not having had a chance to talk to her friend yet, but when I opened Facebook just now, there was a friend request from her. WTF? I am totally confused here.

Anyway, all that aside, I dragged Hubby off to the Captain because Ollie and Ed were going and invited me to join them. He had already eaten, but watched as the three of us gobbled down phò (I was so hungry), then accompanied me to the mall to get our new microwave oven. Yes, a new one. The shop called this morning to tell me that the manufacturer had determined it would cost too much to repair my old one under the extended warranty, and I could have a brand-new one instead. I wasn’t going to say no to that. It just makes me think that there is an awful lot of waste going on if they can just chuck these things. Seriously!

Then we bought him some new winter boots at Yellow and he picked up the guitar humidifiers he’d ordered from the music store, got home only to find a message on the answering machine from Little Princess asking to be picked up. So Hubby went to get her and her BF while I started supper and made a fire in the wood stove. He returned with them and a movie, Knocked Up, which we watched after we’d finished eating. It was very good. It reminded me of both Nine Months and Fools Rush In. I guess pre-marital pregnancy is a pretty universal theme.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>