Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yesterday today.

Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004
8:36 a.m.
Yes, I know, I didn�t update yesterday; I didn�t really feel like it, and now that the computer is in the diningroom, there�s not that much privacy (not that there was that much before) with everyone hanging around, telling me which tiles to match up when I�m playing Shanghai II. Also, as I mentioned before, the table and chair are not at a good height for typing and I need either to put a telephone book on the seat or to find a new resting place for my butt.

Yesterday was the beginning of the long, hard choir practices. The concert happens on December 3 and 4, which is not that far away when you think about it, and we are just now rehearsing the Fanshawe with the tape, or at least parts of it. One thing I must say about this choir: In the past, they have been seemingly totally unprepared just prior to their concerts and somehow pulled off a very credible show at the appropriate time. I�m sure tcklyrpharsn will agree with that one, having been part of those mad dashes to the finish line herself for several years. Fanniepiano said, as we met in the part-time office afterwards to don our outerwear against winter�s chill, that this was just the beginning. Sigh.

By the way, I have the best bunch of students this year. In spite of all my complaints, they are great kids and I�m really enjoying them. There is only one, really, who is a problem, and mostly it�s due to illness that has been plaguing her since the term began. Hopefully she can get that looked after and next term will be smooth sailing.

We�ve officially finished verbs (tenses and persons) in Latin and the big test on Chapter 5 is next Tuesday. I�must�study�. Now we are learning the three other noun declensions. Does it ever get so it feels �natural�?


from tcklyrpharsn:

Oooohhhh, can I ever attest to that. The problem is that a huge number of people in the choir are always like, "Show, what? Who?" until the very end, when they finally have that lightbulb moment and learn their parts. But everyone always does, not least because Herr Professor Director ALWAYS pulls a massive freakout and yells at everyone. My advice to you: try very, very hard to think of something sad when he does this, lest you break down in fits of more rage-inducing laughter. I used to bite my cheeks in a fury.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>