Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s raining, it�s pouring!

Tuesday, May 16, 2006
12:39 p.m.
Belly dancing was brutal last night, but I didn�t realize just how until this morning when I bent over to pick some laundry off my bedroom floor and felt a sharp pain in my lower back, right across the hips, and immediately straightened up with some fear and trepidation. After some stretching exercises with my spine flat to the floor, I felt a little more �in control�, but it�s still iffy and I�m squatting for even short dips.

My printer problems are solved. I�m a first-class idiot. All the emails back and forth between me and tech support were useless because I was missing a very important piece of information which I got by calling the Eps0n help line (although since my printer is no longer under warranty he was going to charge me money until I explained that the printer didn�t have the problem, I did), mainly that when you are adding the printer name in the utility, Eps0n USB has to be selected, not simply USB. Once I did that, everything fell into place beautifully.

However, the out-of-ink light stopped flashing, which is a bad sign, and glared a baleful red steadily at me, which meant I had to start replacing cartridges, which was all right because I have a goodly supply onhand, purchased online (free delivery, no PST), except that I was out of �gloss optimizer�, whatever that is, because I had forgotten to order that in the first place. This necessitated a trip into town to buy some at La Cart0ucherie (which is way out there) and on the homeward journey I stopped at Le V�g�tarien and bought edamame (I actually bought two packages because they were out of it the last time I went), a watermelon (Buddy Boy put me up to it), a cantaloupe and some sesame sticks.

I also stopped at BibIairie GGC, which is not merely a bookstore, but a few years ago moved its premises to an erstwhile automobile showroom where it deals in all sorts of art and craft supplies (as well as books and stationery), to get some clip-on earrings. I could not find them, so I inquired of the girl working behind the desk and smiled at the fact that I was looking for earrings for non-pierced ears, and this girl, a very pretty young woman in her late teens/early 20s, had several piercings in both ears as well as one through her eyebrow. I think the irony was lost on her.

Anyway, they did have one package left, which I bought, and now I�m at home with a working printer, a sore back, and cold feet. Maybe I�ll go put some socks on.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>