Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m a rake and rambling boy.

Monday, May 16, 2005
7:54 p.m.
I have an overwhelming urge to update my diary, although I have absolutely nothing brilliant or scintillating to say. Today has been spent mostly at the computer copying music (Hubby is hard at work on the next piece, a �10-minute Canadian work� for the TSO, to be premiered in the fall), shivering because it is so bloody cold in this godforsaken climate, and wishing it would stop raining and the sun would come out. Right about noon (I was actually in the middle of an online conversation with one of my online buddies), Hubby made me an offer I couldn�t refuse, so we adjourned to our nuptial chamber and frolicked in our 800 thread-count sheets (which really do need ironing, I�m such an idiot), trying to get my feet warm on various parts of both of ourselves, finally taking a hot and foamy bubblebath and feeling quite pampered.

Earlier, much earlier, I had risen with my alarm (although I had been awake earlier, what is it with this?) and gone out to buy gas and milk, having forgotten to pick up the latter on my way home from rehearsal last night and being totally out. We were low on gas too. So, to make up for my lack of sleep, I attempted to nap before heading out for belly dancing, but merely lay in bed and listened to the various doorbells and telephones that seemed to ring incessantly, preventing me from drifting off to the land of Winken, Blinken and Nod. I�m sure I�ve spelled that trio incorrectly, but at least it�ll save me from being googled.

Do you ever wonder how certain words enter the language? Look no farther, there you have a prime example of a recent addition which bears no relationship to the original meaning of the word and has somehow become a verb in the process. The original definition for �google� can be found here. The modern meanings of �googleplex� can be found here. You can see how one grew out of the other, and how the verb, to google, has come to mean: using a particular brand-name internet search engine to find specified online information. We use the verb �google� to denote having our websites (i.e. our diaries) found through any search engine, not just the one that gave the verb its name. So there. We still say �dial� when we make a phone call, even though very few people use rotary dial telephones. My mom�s got one, by the way.

Anyway, Patsy begged off belly dancing tonight, saying she felt dizzy, so I went by myself and ended up being one of four diehards who showed up in spite of Lise being off in Egypt for ten days. The girl who took the class was quite thorough, putting us through our paces, and I know, even with stretching afterwards, that I will be stiff tomorrow.

Little Princess has just arrived home from band practice with a whole bunch of friends, most of the members of her band, in fact, and it looks like they will be adjourning to the basement to watch our big TV. To all you parents out there, if you want to keep your kids at home and know where they are, get an entertainment centre and you will never need to ask. In fact, you will not be able to get rid of them.


from harri3tspy :

I was thinking about the subject of obsolete language still in use the other day. Most of us in the business of giving music history tests refer to the listening portions as "needle drop tests" but in fact few have dropped any needles within the last 15-20 years, ever since the advent of the cassette. And then there is the issue of euphemistic language. Perhaps these things aren't quite so ubiquitous in Canada. It somehow strikes me as a particularly American phenomenon. But do you really think that writing "Team Member Entrance" on the side door of Marshall Field's (our local fancy department store) under the el tracks fools the employees into feeling better about their jobs than if you wrote "Employee Entrance?" Such things bring out the curmudgeon in me.

from time2 :

Last night I had to call some magazine subscription customer service since I had received a bill for magazines that I had never actually had in my hand. When I got the original menu it said " if you are using a rotary phone please hold on the line" I immediately turned to the wife and asked "who the hell uses a rotary phone these days?" she said "old people, really old people" I guess she was correct.

from sea-change- :

Hey - word on the street when I was in Egypt was that they've been putting a damper on training up the belly dancers there, trying to quash licentious behavior or something, and that there's now a shortage of belly dancers in Egypt so they have to import them from Eastern Europe and Russia. But if you teacher is going, maybe it is still the cradle and bright pillar of sexy dancing. What is the gossip, chez your belly dancing establishment?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>