Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Devil’s coffee!

Friday, Mar. 16, 2007
2:40 p.m.
I am so totally out of the the habit of updating here daily, which is kind of strange, because while I was lazing around the pool in D.R., scribbling in my M0Iskine® journal, it was all about writing up my observations as Diaryland entries. But then, having totally avoided the internet for two weeks, I realized that I could live without it, which is actually kind of scary, considering I have more friends online than off. *shudders* But, I shall try to revert to spending more time in front of a computer than away from it, and we’ll see if I don’t fall right back into the old habits pronto.

One thing I didn’t get to write about, and for which I sadly have no photos, was a real “happening” on a night dedicated to D.R. folklore. The resort had set up little booths on the way to the dining room, one which had religious (Catholic) icons on one wall but a crystal ball in an opposite corner, another peddling a drink which was very alcoholic and was supposed to increase a man’s libido, as well as a huge display of local produce, and the entertainment at the theatre was a song and dance fest featuring all things D0minican.

In the dining room, while we were finishing up our meal, there was a sudden commotion as a group of waiters and other employees came in playing guitars and banging on percussion instruments (the thing that looks like a cheese grater and small drums), singing (more like shouting), snaking in around the tables to the central area where the maître d’, Juan, was presiding over a large pot into which he was pouring bottle upon bottle of rum and a quantity of coffee beans and cinnamon sticks and sugar, which he then lit on fire. The lights were doused, and we sat in the dark while the musicians banged and strummed and shouted and Juan stirred and lifted this huge ladle with blue fire dripping its entire length. It was very exciting and went on an extremely long time.

Finally, the fire was put out, the lights were put back on and the noise stopped, and guests were served cupfuls of café diablo, coffee beans and all. It was sweet and strong, with only a residual alcoholic buzz to it, but the flavour of the rum was prevalent, and you had to strain the solid bits out between your teeth as you sipped the hot coffee. I would definitely not recommend that you try this at home. It’s just too noisy!


I went out with Little Princess last night to the music department’s semi-annual cabaret. The theme was “The 80’s”, and we got dressed up with miniskirts, leg warmers, off the shoulder tops, and she put her hair in a high, sideways ponytail, and I parted mine at one side and poofed it over the other way. Oh, and then there was the blue eyeshadow.

I have totally forgotten what happened fashion-wise in the 80’s. For the first bit I was finishing university, wearing jeans and t-shirts, then I was married to a grad student, so I was still wearing jeans and t-shirts, and then I was expecting a baby, so I was into maternity clothes, and then stay-at-home mom clothes, and then pregnant again. I never saw the movie FIashdance, although I saw the resulting fashion craze, and I have never been particularly interested in fashion anyway. But it was cute to see these kids, the oldest of whom were mere children in the 80’s, dressing à la Cindi Lauper. Sometimes I feel so old.

Sadly, the event was dry, the student council not having obtained a liquor licence. So it was pretty dull. Let’s face it, cabaret is all about the beer, right? Oh, and the music too, which was also sadly lacking. However, a bunch of guys, Little Princess’ BF among them, dressed up as the characters from SpinaI Tap and performed a number. That was very, very entertaining. My skating buddy G actually stuffed a cucumber down his very tight shiny pants (which he’d bought for $2.50 at a thrift shop), a vegetable which was being passed around all night. Some things never cease to amuse.


I just got back from a department studio recital whereat entirely too many singers performed, all students of one of my colleagues, some better than others, all extremely dull. Tempos were too slow, there was no expression, everyone was careful to a fault. Dull, dull, dull.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>