Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

When Irish eyes are smiling...

Monday, Jul. 16, 2007
8:53 p.m.
Note to self: When resting your feet on the UPS underneath the computer desk, DO NOT push the reset button with your heel, YOU IDIOT!

All right, this is attempt No. 2 at this entry, the first one having disappeared as the computer went “pouf!” and shut off faster than you can say “Jack Robinson”, which actually takes quite a bit of time to articulate.

After putting it off way too long, I think I have finally secured a car for our driving-on-the-left adventure, an automatic, since my husband said that it would be enough trouble keeping the car on the correct side of the road without also having to worry about which hand was going to manipulate the gearshift. I telephoned each of my credit card companies (and I have several) to find out if I was entitled to any benefits when it came to renting a car, and found that I actually own the Gold card of one institution which allows me to forego the collision damage waiver (whatever that means). I also phoned CAA (which is the Canadian version of AAA, which does not stand for Alcohol Anywhere Anytime) and found that there is one car rental company that has a discount for members, and they got me in touch with one of their travel agents, a delightful Irish woman who lives just an hour and-a-half drive down the road (going west, young man) who was extremely helpful. So that is done.

It would also seem that the hot flashes, which I thought had left me for good last December, are back. Damn. Where the hell is that “off” button when you need it?

Hubby went to see the dentist this morning after suffering for several days with pain in his jaw and down his neck. He delayed because he thought it might just be a symptom of the cold he’s got, the one that Buddy Boy brought home with him from camp and which I avoided contracting through the judicious self-dosing of echinacea. It turned out he had a severely infected wisdom tooth that had to be removed immediately. The roots curled around and it could not just be yanked out of his jaw, so the dentist had to saw it in half and extract it in pieces. He’s in terrible shape right now, can’t eat, can’t drink hot liquids, must not have alcohol, and the analgesic he was told to get (Motrin) isn’t really strong enough for that kind of pain. I made him soup and took him to the store where we bought chocolate mint ice cream and rented a movie. I am partaking of neither.

Oh, I finished the book I was reading, Anansi B0ys by NeiI Gaiman. It was excellent. I love this author. Now I can give the book back to Ed, who can return it to whomever he borrowed it from. Well, isn’t that why they give them hard covers?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>