Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pie...please.

Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2008
7:24 p.m.
I discovered as I was doing my Latin homework that it’s not as bad as I thought it was going to be. I prepared a vocabulary sheet for my paragraph (we’re translating the second of Cicero’s Catinlinarian speeches to the senate) and discovered that most of what I needed to know was in the grammar that Patsy had made us prepare for ourselves in second-year Latin. When I saw her on my way to class (I needed her to sign my add/drop form), I thanked her. She was rather touched, saying no one had ever done that before. I found it made all the difference. Now I realize I have to review the ablative case rather desperately. That was missing from my sheets.

I made an incredible dinner tonight, all spur of the moment. First I got quinoa cooking on the stove and started a stir fry in the wok: onion, garlic, diced carrot, celery, sweet yellow pepper and thawed frozen corn with a quantity of pine nuts thrown in, seasoned with salt, cumin seed, ground coriander, a splash of lime juice and a sprinkling of cayenne. Then I mixed in the cooked quinoa. It was delicious. None was left over.

Speaking of food, my daughter found this pie recipe online. I’m going to have my accompanist and her boyfriend over for dinner before our recital with Little Princess and her BF as well, and thought this would be an amazing end to the meal. You’ve got to check it out.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>