Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Winter is for the birds, or for some birds, anyway.

Tuesday, Jan. 16, 2007
6:57 p.m.
Because of the power of positive thinking (I’m sure that’s it) and all your good wishes for my health, I didn’t actually get that sore throat that I was so sure was going to lay me low. I awoke this morning feeling rather fine, except for continuing stiffness in my back and shoulders which I think I can blame on carrying heavy bags of groceries, but I’m not sure. Now, though, I’m tired and my right eye feels bruised, as though someone socked me, although it doesn’t look like it.

The snow is at least 10 cm. deep, and the temperature today was a mean -15°C. I trundled out to Cosco where I noticed that there are sparrows who live near the windows just inside and above the outside doors. Actually, I’ve noticed them before, but today was the first time I felt it was comment worthy. These must be the same sparrows that nest under the eaves outside in the good weather, and somehow come inside when it starts to get cold. Hubby surmises that there’s plenty for them to eat. I mean, after all, I buy my birdseed at Costco.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>