Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It’s cold outside, no kind of atmosphere...

Friday, Feb. 16, 2007
6:48 p.m.
Even though the ploughs have been out and the roads have been cleared, they still closed all the schools in the area, including the university (which is totally unheard of), even telling staff that if they couldn’t make it in, they would still be paid for a day’s work, and people who did manage to get there would be compensated accordingly. So, with no classes to go to, and her midterm in electricity and magnetism postponed till next week, Little Princess convinced me we should go shopping at the mall, so we did.

The roads have been cleared, as I mentioned, but there is still a layer of slippery stuff and the all-wheel drive of the Subaru was tested repeatedly as we carefully made our way along the street formerly known as Belvidere between snowbanks easily as high as an elephant’s eye with the wild wind blowing gusts of snow about.

When we got to the mall and were parking the car, I frantically started looking for my purse, realizing that I had left it at home. Hence, I was without money, credit and debit cards and I.D., including my driver’s licence, a definite no-no. Little Princess assured me that she had all of those things (except for the latter, not having obtained one yet), so we proceeded to shop, or I should say that she proceeded to shop, and I came along for the ride and a free lunch.

She bought a pair of black dress pants (which I have promised to help her shorten) from Sirens, two pairs of brightly-coloured hose from Simons, suspenders from Ardennes, and new boots from Yellow. I wonder how googlable those store names are. There were cars in the mall, and boats, and Little Princess took a picture of me in front of Hubby’s favourite:

Just as we were arriving home, after driving very carefully through the slippery streets, eyes peeled for Sureté vehicles, my Valentine flowers were being finally delivered, a dozen gorgeous red roses from the man I love.

The piano concert was canceled tonight, so except for picking Little Princess up from band practice, I really have no reason to go anywhere.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>