Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Apples in one basket.

Thursday, Dec. 16, 2004
8:19 p.m.
The belly dancing school was dark and locked when I arrived there less than an hour ago. I had missed the last two sessions and didn�t realize that that was it for the year. So I retraced my route home, a little sad and at loose ends. I have been feeling unaccountably blue the last couple of days. The sensation is one of not belonging here any more, as though I have outstayed my welcome in this town which somehow became home when it was only supposed to be another sabbatical-leave position 17 years ago. I can partially attribute this feeling to the unpleasantness that occurred last spring around the tenure-track position in our department and the lasting fallout which has resulted in the estrangement of friends who had hitherto been our faithful comrades in arms. But I think there�s more to it than that. It could be hormonal, or seasonal, or I am developing wanderlust after years of being a homebody. I do not know, nor do I wish to analyze the situation too deeply for fear it will depress me further.

I got my package sent off from the university today. The nice thing about mailing something like that from my music department to some else�s is that the university pays the postage. It�s a perk I take advantage of all too little. At the bookstore I bought some more holiday reading material, although I doubt I�ll have much time for it. After lunch I actually finished copying the page that has been propped up next to the Quadra for a month now, but was suddenly overcome with fatigue and had to make myself a cup of tea or have a nap. I opted for the former, and of course ended up chatting with my invisible friends while I consumed it. I am a very bad girl.

The big news, I guess, is that I bit the bullet and ordered the new iMac G5. I did not get BlueTooth, so we won�t be going wireless as far as the keyboard and mouse and other peripherals are concerned, but I did get the 1 GB of RAM and also bought a fancy new printer that prints directly on CDs. Does this mean I have to upgrade Finale and start using this fancy new machine for copying music? I haven�t decided yet. I still feel very comfortable using my old program on my dinosaur of a computer, even though it takes ages to load and redraw the screen. We shall see.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>