Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Ten signs that it is spring.

Saturday, Apr. 16, 2005
4:31 p.m.

1. I hung out laundry today.
2. While walking to the university to pick up the car to go to Costco, I saw a yellow crocus peeking out of my neighbour�s roadside garden.
3. Once in the car, I opened all the windows, both moon roofs, took off my jacket, and put on the AC until the interior was cool enough for my liking.
4. Costco has tennis balls for sale. I bought a whole bunch (for guess who).
5. Costco also has maple syrup on sale for less than $5 a can because the maple syrup producers are glutting the market at the moment. I didn�t buy any, still having tons in the pantry.
6. When I got home, I went to pick up my mail and met my neighbour--a sure sign of spring when I see the people who live down the street outside--watching her two little boys playing in the stream, and a bee landed on my hand and refused to leave me, crawling all over my fingers. She would fly off to someone else momentarily and then return to me. I felt so important!
7. The neighbours are out washing their cars, raking their lawns, etc. The students are lying around in their yards, on their porch roofs, balconies, and at The Li0n in various states of undress.
8. Driving to pick Buddy Boy up from his rehearsal I noticed that the farmer�s field which had been totally covered with those thick slabs of ice mentioned in an earlier entry has merely a thin smattering of quickly melting ice sheets.
9. I�ve cracked open the sunscreen now that the northern hemisphere is tipping sunward and sunburns are a possibility.
10. I�m feeling frisky.

I�m thinking about what I�m going to pack for our upcoming trip to Calgary. We�ll probably be doing a lot of socializing, and there�s a very fancy reception after the Friday night concert which requires dressing up. I asked Buddy Boy what he thinks I should wear, and he answered quite thoughtfully that I look really good in black, so I should wear something black. Hubby and I looked at each other with that �look�, which means the black satin cocktail dress I bought for $20 after Christmas and has already paid for itself just the one time I wore it in the boudoir. So, it looks like I will actually wear it in public after all. This will be very interesting, considering just the feel of the fabric under my own hands gets me incredibly excited (just thinking about it as I write this is doing the trick) and Hubby, well, he�s a guy. For the rest of the trip I�ll be needing nice clothes too, so that I can be an appropriate ornament on the arm of the composer. I sure as hell hope we get some time alone together, and not just at night after all the events and I�m ready to drop from fatigue. *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*

Okay, that�s enough of that. Tonight we go to a graduating piano recital, and tomorrow a graduating cello recital. That�ll be it for recitals for a while. Phew!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>