Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Colour my world.

Saturday, Sept. 15, 2007
8:27 p.m.
Attempt No. 2 to post this entry:

It’s the Ides of September, as my best friend zitagsd reminded me today. Next week autumn begins.

The trees between here and Sutton are already starting to show their fall colours, and it made the otherwise rather rainy and dreary drive more aesthetically pleasing. Hubby’s trio played a free gig at a café there this afternoon, a beautiful little town at the base of a ski hill full of trendy boutiques and restaurants which is hosting its very own jazz festival for three consecutive weekends. The crazy pianist (think Reefer Madness) who runs the restaurant in question invited the boys to come out for a trial show, and I got to sing about four tunes with the band. The audience was small but appreciative, and I received many compliments on ma belle voix. A hat passed around collected money to cover gas, and that was a very nice gesture.

We came home to an empty house; Buddy Boy had left a note that he was at a friend’s and Little Princess recorded a message that she was at her BF’s and needed a ride home later as she hurt her foot somehow yesterday. They may be leaving the nest, but they’re not gone yet.

So Hubby and I watched the last two episodes of season three of TPB, which ended a little differently than expected, or than we have come to expect from previous season finales. It was fun.

But I was getting read to post my entry for today when Hubby asked me if I had opened my email yet from our department chair, so I opened a new tab and did that. It contained an attachment listing the teacher-student assignments, and lo! I have four new students. Mind you, they are all taking the lowest course number, the new one instituted for people who are complete rank beginners, but I have taught many rank beginners in the past and have found that these are people who have the most potential for growth. So I’m not as upset about it as I might be, because at least I’ve got students.

Then Little Princess phoned for that ride home, and I closed the window, not the tab, and lost my diary entry which I had not yet posted! Yes, I was pretty pissed. But it allows me to report the business about my teaching and the fact that I was able to stop at the Sears counter at the variety store on the way to Little Princess’ BF’s and pick up the blinds I ordered ages ago which finally arrived.

Here endeth the lesson.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>