Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Rice noodles, bean sprouts, tofu, fried in oil... What’s not to like?

Thursday, May 15, 2008
11:31 p.m.
Five minutes were allotted for each blood letting. It took a lot longer and I ended up waiting until 10:45 a.m. for a 9:50 appointment. I did have the opportunity to chat with a lovely woman, herself a senior who volunteers by driving other seniors around to various appointments, and her charge was one appointment before me. But I was ravenously hungry when I finally got home (this after I dropped in at the bank to deposit those cheques I could not yesterday) and Little Princess expressed an interest in going to PizzaviIIe for their Asian menu.

When the children were quite small, I obtained a coupon booklet providing discounts at various eateries in the area, the above-mentioned being one of them. We went en famille and I ordered something that looked like I might actually enjoy it (and I did) and the rest of the family got a pizza. It turned out to be the most terrible pizza in the world, considering the restaurant’s name. I had not been back since. But recently they have instituted their Asian menu, consisting of soups and noodle dishes, and I had heard many good things about it.

Our area is quite rich with Asian restaurants since much of the Pacific rim was colonized by France during the bad old days of colonialism, and so we end up being a magnet for immigrants who speak that language. There are a lot of Vietnamese restaurants in town, for instance.

Anyway, I had vegetarian pad thai and it was really delicious. It was also too much, so I brought home half of it in a doggy bag and ended up finishing it around 3:00 p.m. when the hunger pangs became unbearable (remember, I'd missed breakfast). This was followed by a snooze.

Then the sun came out (it was a miserable morning, wet and cold) and the birds sang and that’s really all I have for you now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>