Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Nobody knows the car troubles I�ve seen.

Tuesday, Mar. 15, 2005
10:43 p.m.
Today I felt I was truly back in the swing of things. Yesterday I did not, still wearing jeans and a sweatshirt to teach in. But today I donned garb appropriate to my profession and enjoyed the Wayne and Shuster �Ides of March� video that Patsy played for us in Latin class (�I said, �Julie! Julie don�t go!��) As always, it was brilliant.

My lunch hour was spent shopping for groceries (it�s amazing how depleted our larder was), the kind I can�t get at Costco, and chatting with my good buddy the T-man before I headed back to teach again. Once more, my 2:30 missed her lesson, this time having been taken away by ambulance to hospital from her residence room. She has had two lessons so far this term. The situation is getting desperate.

In choir practice we attempted part of the programme from memory. I still do not know how I am going to manage. Most of the music is very easy, and should be very easy to memorize, but it has been so long since I have actively committed anything to memory that I�m finding this extremely difficult. There�s a month to go. I�ll be fine.

Hubby had still not arrived home for dinner when I headed out to writing group, and I found out upon my return home that the Volvo had died underneath him as he tried to leave the university. He called a tow truck (we�re not members of CAA for nothing), waiting an hour for its arrival, and had the vehicle brought home, where it now sits in the driveway plugged in. The driver said it sounded as though there was a problem with the fuel pump, which means yet another repair bill. Luckily, one of Hubby�s composition students would like to buy the car (I don�t know what he�s willing to pay, but I would not be sad to see it become someone else�s problem) and we will look to replace it with something of a more recent vintage. I�m thinking a Subaru Imprezza would be a good substitution.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>