Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Curvature of the mind.

Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2008
10:40 p.m.
I’m so tired. Buddy Boy’s back business is causing me a lot of stress. I guess that’s what being a mom is all about.

My own mom is being difficult. Well, no, that’s not quite correct. I called her tonight to find out how this “companion” thing is working out. Apparently what she wants and what they think she needs are two different things. She realizes that she is bored, that she needs company. What she wants is for someone to come to the house when she is there to visit, for conversation, for stimulation. She doesn’t need someone to take her around to places, which is what they think she needs. She’s quite capable and independent when it comes to that.

For instance, tomorrow she has an appointment with her dentist. They want to send this woman to take her. My mother thinks this is ridiculous. She doesn’t want someone to sit with her on the subway, nor to wait in the waiting room while she is sitting in the dentist’s chair. For her, this constitutes an outing and is quite stimulating in its own way. The “companion” would be wasted.

She is also kind of bothered that my brother seems to be in agreement with this. I said to her that they are worried that she will become “confused” when she is out and step into traffic or get lost or fall and break a hip, or something else. What they don’t realize is that even though my mother’s memory is fading, her intelligence is not. She still has all her common sense. She has always had a clear head in emergencies and that isn’t going to change any time soon.

Anyway, all this just gives me a headache.

It was nice to go to choir today. Dr. M. and I asked Herr Doktor Professor if we could do something particular, and he said no, but that he was going to put us to good use. I hope so. The repertoire for this concert is not challenging enough to keep me interested all term. I signed up and then crossed my name off the sheet for dance auditions. I really enjoyed dancing last year in the spring show, but I don’t want to wait until 6:30 on Thursday evening for the tryouts. That’s insane.

All right, enough about me. What’s new with you?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>