Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Stormy weather�

Sunday, Jan. 15, 2006
10:41 p.m.
When professional musicians rehearse, they call each other up, agendas in hand, plan convenient dates and times, and then arrive, music learned, ready to work. Married couples, even though they may be professional musicians, somehow never learn that routine. My husband will be in the living room, playing guitar, and when I finally ask him, �So, when do you want to practise?� he�ll answer, �I�ve been waiting for you for hours!� See what I mean? Anyway, this always bodes ill for the ensuing session.

We played through the entire programme today. It took forever. Well, we did stop and start and repeat many things, we had to figure out where he was putting his solos, what kind of endings we were doing, and for many of the blues pieces he had actually forgotten what we had done in our November concert. So, finally, at 5:30 p.m. I was able to have a bath and get dressed, having been in my pyjamas and bathrobe the entire day! In spite of all my griping and the several times he threatened to cancel the concert completely, it�s coming along very well and it�ll be a fine show.

However, I was in a great deal of pain for most of it, the delayed reaction of bowling with unexercised muscles suddenly spasming, especially between my shoulder blades and along my left elbow (why there?), which meant that I had to keep changing position in my chair and I couldn�t get comfortable. After my bath I felt much better. Hot water is a wonderful panacea.

Before dinner (see, I still manage to do laundry, bake bread, and provide delicious and nutritious meals) I poured myself a glass of sherry. After dinner I poured another, and then I figured, what the hell, and finished off the bottle. Hubby took advantage of my inebriated state, and all is well in the marital kingdom again. I suppose you didn�t really need to know that. Oh well. I�m still slightly inebriated, so you can blame it on the liquor.

Unfortunately, I didn�t do any Latin homework this weekend. I am required to do a morphology of the subjunctive mood for all five verb forms for Wednesday, so I am grateful this time that writing group doesn�t start for another week. I�m not sure about belly dancing; I�ll find out tomorrow.

Oh, the weather changed, as we knew it would. Yesterday�s rain gave way to last night�s snow, and the wind has been howling and the temperature has been close to -20�C today. The house has been banging too, a sure sign that winter has returned. I�ve booked our Cuban vacation, a week at Varadero at a 4-star hotel (for a cool $2,000 CD apiece, all inclusive), and I can�t wait. Beaches, palm trees, sun block, here I come!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>