Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The soprano is surly.

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2005
10:11 p.m.
I started an entry earlier today in an attempt to clarify my decision of last night, but aborted it when I realized that I didn�t need to. However, my resolve is greater than ever after our dress rehearsal this evening. Vlad treats me with contempt, she puts down any attempt I make to be helpful in a musical sense, and she sings wrong notes and rhythms and then blames others for it. Even though I have repeatedly and tactfully (at least, I try to be tactful) pointed out pronunciation problems (such as in one of the Latin pieces we�re doing, there�s a real discrepancy as some are doing church Latin, while we have one German lady in the group who has her own ideas and one francophone who really doesn�t know what�s going on pronunciation-wise), she makes fun of me (�We appreciate your concern.�). Who needs it? To make it worse, I am certain that everyone (or at least everyone but the tenors) notices what�s going on. I might do the spring concert, but then I�m out of there.

In other news, the weather is frigid. We are supposed to get the storm that hit southern Ontario today later, which might take a chunk out of concert attendance tomorrow night, but it doesn�t matter to me. The place is tiny and we always fill it to capacity anyway. The only thing I am really looking forward to is Dinah�s mulled wine.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>