Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Great War revisited.

Monday, Aug. 15, 2005
5:34 p.m.
My son has responded to a call put out by our very own CBC, which is planning a series on The Great War, or WWI as it is known, for descendants of men and women who participated in that blood bath. As you know, Buddy Boy is an aspiring thespian, and this could be an opportunity for him in some way. As it happens, my husband had a great-uncle who flew for the RAF and was shot down somewhere in France after performing his duty for two years in the European skies. His aunt in Nova Scotia has documented this relative, and while he isn�t strictly speaking an ancestor since he died at the tender of age of 24 and Buddy Boy is not in direct linear descent, I think this should suffice. It has been interesting watching my menfolk do research on this war hero. One of the obstacles is that his name has been spelled both as MacBlank and McBlank. My husband�s family has always gone as MacBlank, and so have his father�s siblings, but upon closer inspection of their birth certificates, they were all actually registered as McBlank. In the great scheme of things, this really doesn�t have much meaning, but it was a big deal when Buddy Boy was going through pages and pages of Mcs and Macs.

I printed out the string parts this morning and tonight will start correcting from the top of the pile. I made a fabulous dinner out of Vegan PIanet (Rice Noodles with Tofu and Asian Pesto), and all I can taste is garlic, garlic, and more garlic, with a soup�on of ginger and cilantro. Believe me, it could be a lot worse.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>