Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Amazing

Wednesday, Apr. 15, 2009
7:24 p.m.
Today has been an amazing day. First off, the weather has been amazing. Sunny, not a cloud in the sky, warm, but not too warm. I got myself up off of my spreading bottom and walked into town (a half-hour each way) where I was able to get my eyebrows waxed at the tanning salon. A student waiting ahead of me was buying 16 minutes of tanning time. I asked her why she was paying to use a tanning table when the sunshine outside was free. She couldn’t really answer me. Anyway, the eyebrow waxing was an interesting experience. I had to pluck a couple of stray hairs she missed when I got home, but it certainly was a lot faster and cleaner than when I pull them out myself.

After this, I headed across the street to my preferred pharmacy to buy hair dye, except that they didn’t have the two colours that I like to blend in the brand I like. Instead I bought some exfoliating face wash and went across the street again to the other pharmacy, the one I don’t like to use because it is newer and more modern looking and strikes me as being less in keeping with the small-town feel of our small town. But lo! they had the hair dye in question on sale, so I bought double the amount I normally would.

As I was paying for it, a woman came up to me and said, “That looks like Elgan. But it can’t be Elgan, she’s much too young!” After assuring her that I was in fact Elgan, and that I was also as old as she imagined I should be, I let her in on my secret, which happens to be that facial cream I purchased in February and really does seem to be making the texture of my skin more youthful. She was rather skeptical when I told her the price, but we were joined by the cosmetician who said that the product in question was presently on sale. I haven’t yet finished all of the old bottle, but I jumped at the chance to acquire more at a discount. The woman (I think her name was Carol, and she is at least 10 years older than I) ended up taking some literature and a sample. The price may be beyond her, but I don’t find it extravagant for an anti-aging cream that really seems to work when I think of all the money I have spent on products that don’t.

Then I crossed the street again to the health food store where I bought my favourite tamari, baking yeast, tofu and dried peppermint, after which I walked home, my groceries slung over my shoulder. The weather was fine.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>