Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

How I spent my day off.

Saturday, Apr. 16, 2005
7:32 a.m.
I treated yesterday, my first actual day off in ages, as a day off. I spent practically the whole morning chatting with friends online, friends I had sadly neglected because I have been so busy lately. Then, after a frantic call from Little Princess, I delivered her violin to her where she and her band had a table set up at Rock for the River, an incarnation of the annual Rock for Recycling event that goes on, sponsored by the student council.

The weather was perfect for it. Various bands each had an opportunity to play on the steps of the studio theatre, and the ground is dry enough now that hordes of students could mill about on the grass and dance on the brick circular walkway in front of the marquee. Little Princess� table was, unfortunately, situated right next to one of the speaker setups, and the music was loud. They had two enormous �&� symbols set up behind them against the wall of the theatre, and were encouraging passersby to sign a petition to �Save the Ampersand�. Rather cute. My buddy Chris had the great idea of giving away �goody� bags, and had filled paper bags with junk that he wanted to get rid of anyway, including the ugliest shirt I have ever seen. One of my students, the baritone, picked that one up.

At one point I ended up driving the band�s singer and their sound guy out to the latter�s place to pick up a piece of electronic equipment so they could get a sound installation they had concocted to actually work. For my efforts I was allowed to finish off a bag of jelly beans. Except that the music was too loud (you can tell that I haven�t been to that many rock concerts in my life), it was a perfect afternoon.

Last night Hubby and I went to the joint recital (a half each) of one of his students on classical guitar and a violinist (the one who performed her violin concerto on the chamber orchestra concert). It was quite good. He played the Bach �Prelude and Fugue� and she played three movements of the Franck sonata beautifully. We went out to Da T0ni afterwards, the guitarist, the violinist, her mother and her accompanist, Hubby and myself. It was lovely.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>