Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

On the verge of eating worms.

Friday, Sept. 14, 2007
7:22 p.m.
I apologize for yesterday’s outburst. It changes nothing, I know. Life sucks.

My son is here for a few days, having arrived rather late Wednesday night (or rather early Thursday morning), his university having been shut down for the High Holy Days. I don’t get it, frankly. They don’t close the other large university in that city. I suspect it is because a large percentage of professors (not students, surely) are of the Jewish persuasion and want the time off to spend in the synagogue of their choice. I am not complaining. It means Buddy Boy is here, and I feel like we have a family again.

This morning I took him shopping for dress pants as we have a family wedding to go to the first Sunday in October (which happens to coincide with Thanksgiving) and he managed to destroy his other ones by getting them covered with bicycle chain grease. We were quite fortuitous in finding that Sears had many clothes on sale, with a further discount if you bought more than one item. So we did. He is now the proud owner of two pairs of dress pants, one beige, one black. He absolutely refused my offer to get him a belt. Oh well.

Then this afternoon I had a reahearsal with Mlle Piano at her house, arriving just after the cable guy, who was there to install cable internet, or something like that. The problem was that she didn’t know where the cable came into the house, and it took him quite a while to find it so he could proceed with his job. We read through the things we hadn’t seen yet, the Schubert, Donizetti, and Mozart. It’s some hard repertoire I’ve picked out for us, but I think, with lots of practice, it’s going to be a very interesting and exciting recital. Now if only I had some students who would go to it and cheer me on.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>