Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I once was blind, but now can see.

Sunday, Oct. 14, 2007
11:23 p.m.
Months ago I ordered 10 aluminum venetian blinds for various windows in the house. Weeks ago they were ready to be picked up. Tonight my husband decided he would start installing them. They are all a wee bit snug. One of them doesn’t fit at all and I’ll have to return it. I should have measured that window separately, silly me.

Installing them means removing the old plastic ones first. This has been accomplished with much crashing and booming, little bits of plastic flying all over. I do not enjoy having to pick up the pieces. Nor do I enjoy trimming 16th-inch clippings (they do in fact look like nail clippings when I gather them up) off the edges. He’s got six up, with three to go and one to be returned and reordered. Do you have any idea how expensive they were? No? Well, I’m not going to edify you. So there.

I did very little of anything productive today, other than laundry and making supper, for which we invited Ed over. He has been stressed out with his parents’ shennanigans lately, so Little Princess and I thought he might enjoy the distraction. He brought an apple pie, which was much appreciated. Then Hubby and I finished off season five of TPB. Next is the movie, then one more season, and after that we have to start looking for season seven. It should probably be out on DVD now. I haven’t been hooked on a TV series like this since the new Star Treks.

Oh yes, then we installed blinds.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>