Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Short and sweet

Thursday, Oct. 14, 2004
9:47 p.m.
I have just returned from belly dancing, and my left thigh is incredibly sore. She had us doing some sort of twist, hip lock, thingy, for a long time, with all the weight on the left leg, and I think that�s what did it. We also worked a lot with our arms, and my poor right arm was feeling rather used, shall we say?

I am enjoying Latin class. Today we learned the rest of the verb endings for the different persons, singular and plural: amo, amas, amat, amamus, amatis, amant. Now I understand my dad�s joke about the Jewish kid learning Latin, reciting: amo, amas, amat, amamus, atatis, akint. Well, I guess you had to be there.

Between Latin and teaching singing I headed out to Costco to purchase frozen orange juice and dishwasher detergent. Okay, I got other things too, but they were my main impetus. My two students today had good lessons, and choir was pretty good too. I discovered that the solo for the encore will be sung by the �assistant director�. This is where the catty soprano in me unsheathes her claws. Sorry.

Supper was linguine al pesto and saut�ed cauliflower, heavy on the garlic, and belly dancing was as mentioned above. There is nothing more to say.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>