Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

All we like cheese.

Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2007
10:48 p.m.
Diaryland has been very strange the past couple of days. It’s experiencing brain freeze, methinks. Speaking of which, today was extremely mild. I came out of writing group a mere 40 minutes ago to a gentle rain and a temperature of 11°C, which is unheard of for this time of year. The weather widget in my dashboard keeps changing. It was supposed to snow tomorrow, now it’s supposed to rain with snow on Friday. I do not trust this little gadget anymore. It’ll do what it’ll do, and I will have to dress according to what I see out of my window in the morning, and that’s that.

My 1 p.m. student arrived 40 minutes late this afternoon. Her excuse was admirable, but still inexcusable. Apparently she had gotten into a conversation with a man who was on his way to a funeral and was so bereaved that he felt somewhat suicidal. She didn’t think it would be a good idea to just leave him in that condition, so she stayed to comfort him. Well, that’s really nice of her, but I used her lesson time to practise my own repertoire, for which I was paid rather well. She, on the other hand, ended up getting a 20-minute lesson, and seemed happy enough to do so.

After teaching, though, I was drained. I was so tired, in fact, I felt like my face was drooping. This is not the case. I have been using new day and night creams which seem to actually deliver the promised effect. I notice that my middle-aged jowls are less saggy. At least, I think they are. Now if only we could do something about the creases next to my eyes that keep getting deeper daily.

Anyway, I got myself a cup of tea and drank it in the lobby while waiting for Hubby to finish his counterpoint class so we could go home together. He was also exhausted. This teaching business is not for the weak, believe me. Then, just as we had finished supper and I was putting the leftovers in the fridge, Little Princess called asking for a ride home as she was eschewing karate class to finish an assignment. The things I do for my offspring. And then, of course, I had to run off to writing group and Hubby had to drag his guitars and amp to his rehearsal.

I’m glad I went to writing group, though. There were only four of us and Janice said that she would have to think up a prize for me since I haven’t missed a single session this fall. Next week is our final one for 2007. We won’t start again until the spring. Whatever will I do until then?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>