Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Suffering for Love

Thursday, May. 14, 2009
9:56 p.m.
I put my friend on the bus this morning. As I write this, he is somewhere over the Atlantic Ocean, possibly trying to sleep, possibly not. I just remembered that I forgot to give him the headphones I promised, one of the many that I have collected from various air flights. Now I feel really stupid.

We had a great week, in spite of the lousy weather at the start. Today began sunny and warm; then the wind became wild, grey clouds moved in, and I had to bring in my laundry only partially dried and let it finish in the dryer. We also lost power for about an hour. My computer stayed on because of the UPS it is connected to, but the device itself started beeping, which alerted me to the outage.

I have a dilemma. The wedding I’m attending this weekend is in an orthodox synagogue, and the dress I had intended to wear is probably not appropriate. This is the purple, strapless dress that cost me an arm and a leg which I wore for the blues concert. I have two other weddings to wear it to this summer, neither of which is in a synagogue, but now I have to figure out what’m going to bring for this one, especially as I will be accompanied by my daughter, and my husband has said that people will infer, if I am dressed in a provocative manner and not with my mate, that I am on the make. So, what to wear?

If only that were the biggest problem facing me, life would be so simple.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>