Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Today I bought roll-on purple sparkly eyeshadow and sparkly purple eyeliner. So there!

Saturday, May 14, 2005
9:20 p.m.
We watched Life Aquatic last night, the four of us plus a friend of Buddy Boy�s and Little Princess� boyfriend, and the lead singer in their band. It�s a good thing we have a big television. The movie was excellent: think This is Spinal Tap translated into the Jacques Cousteau marine adventure/documentary genre. I recommend it highly to all who have not yet seen it.

This morning I walked over to Black Cat where an author of books for young people was reading from several of her �uvre as part of a language arts festival which had been going on at Bushop�s the day before. It was very nice, there being present children, both very young and slightly older, and older folks, including several members of the writing group. Afterwards I invited Janice to join me for lunch, so we ate in the now smoke-free Java and conversed about this, that and t�other, the kinds of things that women of our age talk about, ranging from our relationships with our menfolk to how well our kids have turned out to the early symptoms of perimenopause. You get the point: not very interesting to an eavesdropper. But we had a lovely time. I�ve always felt I needed more women friends of my own age, so this is a good move for me.

Little Princess� boyfriend came over and dined with us, and just now he and Hubby and I had a bit of jam session, the boyfriend playing Buddy Boy�s new bass (which his uncle gave him--what a guy!) while I killed my fingers on my old Yamaha acoustic and Hubby made beautiful sounds come out of his Les Paul. They tried to follow me with a Dylan tune that I haven�t played in 25 years or so, then we played All of Me, and then we followed the bassist on something. It was all good fun. My fingertips are throbbing now.

I�ve been composing interesting and discussion-inducing entries in my head during my walks these days, but when I sit down to the computer they fly the coop. One of these days I will remember to carry that notebook around with me so I can write down my ideas when I think of them. Until then, you�re stuck with these mundane descriptions of my day.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>