Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Moods, cases and declensions, oh my!

Monday, Jan. 14, 2008
9:40 p.m.
My brother in Israel got in touch with me both by email and telephone to let me know that our brother took our mom to the Jewish old folks’ home and it has been arranged that a woman whom she knows and likes will drop in on her several times a week to make sure things are all right and do stuff that she needs help with. She will also be picked up and taken there for activities geared towards seniors.

This is very good news. I think one of the biggest contributors to her decline has been her lack of stimulation. At least now she’ll have an opportunity to interact with others more often.

To add to my stress, my son messaged me this evening that he has seen a doctor about this back pain that has been afflicting him since last semester, and the diagnosis is that he has mild scoliosis, which would account for why the person he saw at sports medicine discovered his hips are uneven. He has to stop all his martial arts activities, and finds that even putting on his shoes is extremely painful. Tomorrow he’ll make an appointment for X-rays, and hopefully there is some treatment that will fix this problem. My poor Buddy Boy.

Ms. Piano and I went through the American songs today. They’re tricky, and there are some text setting problems, like words on high notes with oo vowels. Not smart for sopranos, that’s for sure. However, I am nothing if not resourceful, and I shall prevail!

I also went to my first Latin class in over a year. I really suck. We translated a poem by Propertius, and I realized I’ve forgotten absolutely everything having to do with cases, declensions and moods. Aieeeeee! Actually, it was kind of funny. I arrived a minute or so late to class, and the prof said we were going to read Propertius, and I heard him say we were going to be propitious. It took but a moment to clear that up.

Anyway, I’ve had quite enough excitement for one day.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>