Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Strikes, spares and misses�

Saturday, Jan. 14, 2006
10:13 p.m.
Bowling! You�re probably all dying to know how that went, just admit it. Well, it went like this. I got to the music department just after 8:30 last night and was asked if I knew where this bowling alley was, to which I replied in the affirmative, so three girls piled into my car with me and we drove to the wrong bowling alley with two other cars following us. You see, Fleurim0nt has two such establishments with very similar names and I went to the one I knew, in this case, the wrong one. So we all piled back into the car, and this time I led three other cars to the correct one, which isn�t nearly as classy as the first one, and was filled to the brim with the cream of Fleurim0nt�s youth (if this is the cream, I don�t want to see the rest) as they hung out at the bar and hit billiard balls in an overcrowded lobby. One fellow really caught my attention, his long hair dyed with blonde streaks literally hung in his eyes the whole time, and even though he would toss his head in what seemed to be an involuntary reflex to unobscure his vision, the hair did not move as though it had been shellacked into place. One other had gelled his into hedgehog spikes, and pimply teenagers necked without shame while we waited to pay our money and collect our shoes.

Finally, after what seemed like an eternity, we were allowed upstairs where there were six lanes (we used three between 18 people). My team consisted of myself, a pianist, her boyfriend, a flutist, her roommate, and one of my own students. The boyfriend was very good at the game, apparently he even owns his own bowling ball, although I understand he hadn�t brought it because it was cracked. The flutist had a very strange technique. She walked up to the lane, sort of dropped the ball and watched while it headed off towards the pins. She actually got more strikes than any of us. In the first game I played my usual mediocre self. The second game, however, was the best I think I have ever bowled in my whole life, while the third was a dud, starting off with two gutter balls and a great big zero on the score sheet.

It was fun, I�ll grant you that, but there was terrible, loud disco music playing the whole time which meant we had to shout to be heard. At about 11:30 the lights suddenly went off so that we were playing by black light and disco ball, with only the pins illuminated. That really sucked, especially finding the right weight ball, since they�re all colour coded. I was very glad to go home where I ended up taking extra-strength pain reliever for a very intense headache. Maybe next time we�ll book the first salon de quilles we went to by mistake.

Today Hubby, Little Princess and I went into Sh�brooke to buy coffee and beads, and to put up posters for our concert. We were successful on all counts. The beads were for a little craft project that Little Princess got me involved in. She has become very fashion conscious of late, in a �goth� mode, something I think she has been influenced in by her crowd of friends. Anyway, she found a website with this particular necklace, which I liked too, so we decided to make it (in the 15" version). She chose to make hers in black and red, while mine is black and mauve. Here is my finished attempt:
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Not too shabby, if I say so myself.

To finish, I have been tagged by twocoffees, so here goes:

Weird habits I have:

1. I am constantly smelling my fingers, whether there is anything to smell on them or not. I will sit at the computer, my right hand on the mouse, my left with my fingers on my upper lip where I can conveniently sniff them. Very strange indeed.

As much as I try, I can�t think of any others. I have lots of bad habits, but none of them are particularly weird. Hmmm. Sorry. I�m supposed to tag five other people, but I don�t feel like it. So there. Nyah.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>