Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

After long silence...

Saturday, Feb. 14, 2009
10:13 a.m.
I read a sci-fi book of that name not too long ago. This is not about that. It is about me getting completely out of the habit of updating my diary regularly, either due to fatigue, laziness, apathy, or lack of inspiration. I’m going to try to remember what happened since last Monday (my last entry) that’s worthy of setting down in print and recap briefly.

Tuesday: I made a student cry. Well, it wasn’t totally my fault, and I wasn’t even teaching her. But this is a very complicated girl with a lot of issues and she came to her lesson in spite of the fact that she is taking antibiotics for strep throat and felt like she had knives cutting into her every time she swallowed or yawned. Impossible to teach someone like that. I told her to come back next week when she’s well.

Driving home from the university at noon to see my cleaning lady off, I ran over a squirrel that was attempting to cross the street directly under the wheels of my car. It came out of nowhere, dove under the car giving me no opportunity to slow down, and when I looked in my rearview mirror as I continued up the hill, all I could see on the road was its tail waving in the breeze. It was one of those experiences that bothered me a great deal at the time and every subsequent time that I thought of it, but in between, I forgot about it totally.

Wednesday: I rehearsed with the blues band again. We went through all the vocal numbers (including the ones I don’t sing), and they’re coming along very well. On Thursday I sang through all my songs in a practice room from memory. Not bad, considering the concert is a week last night.

Yesterday I worked at home. I dyed my hair, which I had let go an embarrassing amount of time between touch-ups, and what used to be gray is now almost shockingly red, while the rest is a darker brown. One of these days I’m going to have to rethink this whole business. In the meantime, I have particoloured hair. Hubby and I also went to see his new guitar. It has a preliminary coat of finish on it and the fingerboard is all sanded smooth and fretted. It’s really quite lovely. Unfortunately it won’t be ready for the concert next week, but Hubby has told his luthier to take his time and do an excellent job.

The plan for today is to go to a music/electronics store to get Hubby another guitar strap and me a good microphone. That’s kind of exciting. He’s out at the moment, “picking something up for somebody,” which I presume means he got me a Valentine’s Day gift when I got him nothing. We made no reservations for dinner, but are thinking of going to eat at the tapas bar right next door to the cinema downtown to catch a movie.

He’s been sick for the past few days with something that causes him to make lots of noise in his sleep and for me to lie awake listening to it. The night before last it was so bad I ended up putting ear plugs in all night. I’m also afraid of getting it myself, so have been taking echinacea every time I feel the slightest sensation of illness.

My thoughts go out to those people in Australia right now who are suffering so terribly. Go read hissandtell for more details.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>