Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No more Ms. Nice Guy.

Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2005
10:18 p.m.
I have made the cataclysmic decision that this will be my last Christmas concert with the UpIands MusicaI Society. I have, to be frank, had it. I�m sick of the unprofessionalism, the inability of ensemble members to learn their music at home between rehearsals, and the fact that I simply don�t fit in for the very reasons that I am professional, I do practise my music, and I am constantly being shushed or made to sing parts for which I am not suited. If the director wants me out, then she has done a very effective job of pushing me in that direction. She knew when she asked me to be in the ensemble six years ago that I project when I sing, that my voice has presence, and that I take myself seriously. She doesn�t insult the altos, both rather dreadful singers, the way she does me. Even though I have considered this a volunteer thing that I do for the community, I have ceased to enjoy it. She will have no trouble finding someone to replace me, someone who won�t pose as competition to herself (there is no competition really, but that�s another story), and I won�t have to sing this horrible tripe any longer nor sit through rehearsals which are agonizing in their sloppiness amateurishness.

Well, now that I�ve got that off my chest, I can also add that the weather is frikkin� cold, I couldn�t find edamame at the store where I was told I might be able to find them, I still haven�t finished translating my Livy (although I�m almost done with the preliminary work), and I couldn�t get Finale� to play back a file for me but Hubby just pressed the play button on the control window and it worked perfectly for him. There�s a conspiracy, I swear!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>