Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Black day in September

Wednesday, Sept. 13, 2006
7:35 p.m.
It's a black day in Montreal. At 12:41 p.m. today (EDT) a lone gunman entered the cafeteria of Daws0n C0llege and opened fire randomly on the people within. Twenty people were injured before a SWAT team took out the shooter. A 20-year-old woman later died in hospital from her injuries.

I'm slightly in shock. My whole family is in the same kind of milieu in which this horrible event occurred. I can just imagine a nutcase with a gun opening fire on my son's English class, or my daughter's math class, or in my husband's theory class, or when I'm buying a latte in the cafeteria. Even in Canada, with our restrictive gun legislation and our generally more even temperament, so glorified in Michael M00re's "Fahrenheit 9/ll" for being so much saner than our neighbours to the south, these horrible things still happen, and when they do, we are totally unprepared emotionally.

I think that's all I'm fit for today. Sorry folks.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>