Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Vin aigre

Saturday, Oct. 13, 2007
10:26 p.m.
The marathon Messiah rehearsal was indeed arduous. The conductor is taking everything at an extremely quick clip; so fast, in fact, that it is well nigh next to impossible to articulate the 16th-note runs as he wishes us to, especially for the basses, many of whom have had no vocal training whatsoever and know nothing about controlling diaphragmatic pulses with their epigastriums. That was singing teacher talk for you. But in truth, “For unto us” was just too fast, even for someone like me who can belly bounce. Sheesh!

I opened a bottle of wine for dinner, a baco noir that my sister-in-law had given us for our anniversary, and my impression upon tasting it (it was a beautiful colour with great legs) was balsamic vinegar. I think that present is jinxed. There were three bottles from the same Ontario vineyard in a fancy holder, and two wine glasses etched with its logo, all wrapped up prettily in plastic with ribbons and exelsior. When we first opened it, we discovered that one of the wine glasses was broken. Now the red wine is sour. There is a rosé and a white in there as well. I hope they are in better shape. Little Princess, however, actually enjoyed her glassful, but I’m saving the rest of it in the pantry to be used in salad dressings. So there.

Now Hubby wants me to come downstairs and watch some TPB with him. Toodleoo!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>