Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Guess what! It’s snowing again!

Thursday, Mar. 13, 2008
10:40 p.m.
I’m not sure yet how I feel about Diaryland’s new look, so I shall reserve comment. I just wish Andrew would get that chat room working again. Talk about a middle-aged woman with a problem.

Wednesdays are my heavy teaching day, and yesterday was no different from the others. However, my special needs student was a half-hour late with yet another amazing excuse. This time it was because her cat had latched onto her head with its claws as she was getting ready to leave and wouldn’t let go. I just can’t wait for her next excuse.

This girl has become my champion, however, as she used the knowledge that students could use other students as accompanists and arranged for herself and two of the other drama students to employ one of the girls who had shown interest. She did this so that it wasn’t I who was the instigator here, but herself. I am so relieved.

Anyway, I was the only student who showed up for Latin yesterday, so the professor and I had a private session until the girl who is always late came (she has a class conflict) to rescue me. The discussions about ancient Roman mores was quite interesting and lively.

I had to eat hurriedly, get tarted up, and go back to school to rehearse with the jazz ensemble so we could peform at the music students’ formal. It went well, sort of, at least the Charlie Mingus tune about the lucky laundromat owner from Iowa went better than it’s ever gone. The Gershwin tune was all right. The band still has to tighten up.

I stuck out the rest of the evening, listening to the band and hanging out with Ed and various other of my young friends. I can’t help but wonder what people who don’t know me think when they see a middle-aged woman in the company of these youths acting like one of them, apparently accepted by them. Ed said he didn’t think people thought anything, which is what I have always suspected anyway.

Tonight Hubby and I attended the opening night of the drama department’s main stage production of The Mad Woman of ChaiIIot by Jean Giraud0ux. It was extremely well done.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>