Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another ho hum Friday 13th.

Friday, Jul. 13, 2007
11:13 p.m.
It has been a very long Friday 13th, starting at 6:15 a.m. when I hit the snooze button because I wasn’t ready to get up yet. Hubby and I were supposed to leave the house at 7:00 to drive to Montreal for the first rehearsal on his new symphony, and I was all ready to go, made up and everything, when he decides he really must have a cup of coffee. So he made himself a lattè, which is fine, except that I thought about having a cup of tea and decided I really didn’t have time, but I would have had time because after he finished the coffee, he decided he should have a bowl of cereal. And they say they’re always waiting for us!

Anyway, we left Sh’brooke in a downpour and arrived in Montreal to sunshine and blue skies, parked underneath Place des Arts, found a washroom and a coffee for me (I couldn’t stop yawning), then asked directions until we got to the rehearsal room where we recognized several musicians we knew playing in the orchestra.

The readthrough went extremely well. They got through the whole piece (it’s 27 minutes long) and even had time to go back and work on several sections. The musicians love it! We went to lunch with our friend the Serbian violist (who was so happy to tell me that she got her Canadian citizenship and went through the whole ceremony and sang O Canada and wept) and the Polish clarinettist and his wife, another violist, and another clarinettist with whom Hubby has played jazz at the food court underneath the complex, and my fortune cookie (I had Chinese food) said “You will soon have a golden opportunity” or something like that.

They musicians went back to finish their rehearsal (Strauss waltzes, believe it or not) and we headed out to St. Catherine Street and Chapters to buy books for our upcoming European adventure (Frommers and Fodors and a jim dandy set of road maps), thence to HMV for a Flecktones CD and two more seasons of Trailer Park Boys. I also was able to change my PIN on one of my credit cards, something I’ve been meaning to do for ages.

We drove home into more rain, and after supper watched Black Snake Moan. It was a very, very good film. I recommend it highly.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>