Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sing a song of sixpence, don�t stick it in my eye.

Thursday, Jan. 13, 2005
7:57 p.m.
Keeping my faithful readers up-to-date on the wok lid story, I got a call from the lady at the store with a number for the customer service department of the supplier of the cooking utensil. I called, left a message, and await their response.

In other news, I have lots of Latin homework. Lots. I need to review rather desperately and memorize the endings for the passive. This is a very complicated language. I keep telling myself that it�s easier than ancient Greek, and it is, except that our Greek professor never had us learning the language the way Patsy is teaching this one. I would have preferred her approach with the other dead language too, but David isn�t like that. Anyway, Latin review is on the agenda.

I did not practise today. Mea culpa. Instead I went shopping, bought coffee and groceries, then came home and played on the internet until it was time to go back for choir practice. Hence tomorrow I must spend several hours working on the pieces I�ll be rehearsing with France Saturday morning, or else I shall make a grand fool of myself. I�m supposed to be a professional. Harrumph!

At choir practice today I finally got to tell my former student (who is in choir this term) why I have not yet sent in the recommendation letter for him for the Armed Forces. Instead of telling him that I didn�t think he was good officer or soldier material, I said that I would not feel right being responsible for putting him in a position where he might be responsible for the lives of people under his command, especially in a case where death and destruction were involved. He understood that and respects my reasons, and said he would ask someone else. Phew!

Uncle Don arrived just in time for supper, having driven from Montreal where he is conducting business just to visit us. He�ll stay over, then be on his way at 7 a.m. tomorrow to get back for a 9 a.m. meeting. He�s the only one of my or my husband�s family who spontaneously drops in on us like this, and it�s always a pleasure to see him. He brought his bass with him, and right now he and Hubby have gone to the school to see if they can borrow a bass amp. What a guy!

Oh, I almost forgot. Check out twocoffees�s mini-saga site and you will see my first attempt at a mini-saga there. It�s fun! Try it, you�ll like it!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>