Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s c-c-c-c-c-cold outside!

Tuesday, Dec. 13, 2005
10:55 p.m.
Hello friends. It�s that time of day, when I update my diary whether I have something interesting to say or not. Today I actually have news, though, which means I don�t have to make anything up or flounder around trying to start a philosophical and/or metaphysical discussion.

Our new cleaning lady arrived today at 8:15 just as Buddy Boy was running to catch his schoolbus (a daily occurence, I might add). Her name is Mandy and she worked for seven hours non-stop. While she wasn�t able to do everything (our house is enormous, and the attic wasn�t touched), the place is so much cleaner than it�s been since our last cleaning lady (even cleaner, actually, because she wasn�t very good) and I�m beginning to think that we can actually start having people over for dinner and parties because I don�t need to be ashamed anymore. The heavens are telling the glory of Mandy!

This evening we attended a party at the home of the two Drs. M in order to celebrate the recent passing of his defence. The house was full of their friends and it was quite a lot of fun. There was food, including the usual veggies and cheeses and crackers, and also the most incredible sushi, and those truffles that are to die for. I was eating one and telling the new Dr. M that I was in a state of extasy. The first Dr. M had had a chocolate cake made with the inscription �Mazal Tov, Dr. M� on it, and we all sang those words to the tune of Happy Birthday. A good time was had by all.

I finally took all the bags of clothing that have been sitting in the upper hallway for years to a drop box today (recup�ration de v�tements), making so much more room and allowing our new treasure to vacuum and wash the floor. It was freezing today, folks. The mercury read -20�C this morning and coming home from the Drs. M it was again -20 as we pulled into the driveway. This is January weather. What gives?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>