Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I have good news and I have bad news.

Thursday, Apr. 13, 2006
12:38 p.m.
First of all, the concert went extremely well last night. The hall was decently filled (it only seats 150, and it looked like there were at least 100 people there) and I sang beautifully and looked quite fetching (at least, everyone said so) and the orchestra was applauded so long and loud that they ended up reprising the first movement of the Mozart symphony as an encore. The party here afterwards was a lot of fun. I had put out lots of food, including spring rolls and spanikopita heated up in the oven, which were all gobbled up. There were cheeses and crackers, chips and salsa, a key lime pie and a Mississippi mud pie (with leftovers in the fridge, yum), and lots and lots of beer. We eventually ran out of beer. Several students and Hubby started jamming on guitars, I sang a couple of jazz and blues tunes, and it turned into a full-fledged jam session with two soprano recorders, a bamboo transverse flute (which was so out of tune it was painful), a tambourine, three electric guitars and a stand-up bass. I hope the neighbours had as much fun as we did.

Early this morning I took the Volvo into the shop as it needs its spring tuneup and the temperature gauge needle has been going into the red. I waited all morning before finally being given a courtesy car to come home in, a nice red Volvo station wagon of a much newer vintage than the one I left behind. The good news is that even though the indicator was going into the red because there was a leak in the engine coolant pipe, we caught it early enough that no damage was done. The bad news is that it needs a complete rear brake job. Feh.

I really miss Buddy Boy. He hasn�t even been gone 24 hours yet, and I�m hankering after him. We told him to call, and then told him that he would be six hours ahead once in Rome, and not to call when we are asleep in bed. So, we shall see if we actually hear from him at all. In the meantime, I pine for my little boy.

The summer weather of yesterday has turned cool again today with a gray sky threatening rain (actually a few drops have already fallen, and Hubby is on the tennis court, poor fellow). I�m running on acute sleep deprivation right now, so maybe after a piece of pie (key lime or Mississippi mud, which shall it be?) and a cup of tea, I shall have a well-deserved nap.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>