Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The alternative is always worse.

Friday, Sept. 12, 2008
10:34 a.m.
As often happens around here, we went from windows wide open at night and sleeping on top of the covers to pulling out the down comforter. The night before last my husband and I were both shivering in bed. He finally leapt out, got the downy out of the linen closet and threw it on top of the blanket and knitted bedspread, which meant we were too warm. So yesterday I put away the other covers, encased the duvet in its cover, and we were toasty warm last night. That’s one thing I actually like about fall.

I wrote the following email to my brothers yesterday:


I have spent some time thinking about this situation and the head nurse’s proposal and have come to the conclusion that there is a better way.

When we were visiting Mummy a couple of weeks ago, Hubby accidentally got off the elevator on the second floor and wandered around before realizing his mistake. He was horrified. This is where the incontinents and the screamers are kept, and Mummy is neither. She is autonomous when it comes to personal care and hygiene and being among those who are not would certainly not contribute to her happiness in any way.

A return to the old house would be desirable over this, provided she had a full-time companion. She can have a full-time companion at the FHP as well, if we pay for it, but if she is in her own house, at least the upkeep will be cheaper than what she’s paying now.

It would be a pain in the ass to move her back, but it’s not impossible. She would be in her own neighbourhood and wouldn’t feel that she couldn’t go for walks without getting lost. She needs physical exercise, as that has been shown to be of great help when it comes to slowing down the encroachment of dementia.

Optimally, I would rather she stayed in her lovely apartment at the FHP where she is getting fed well (she is very happy about the meals) and if we sell the house, she can afford to do this AND have a full-time companion.

Tell me what you think of this.

El


Needless to say, I have not yet received a reply. This whole business colours everything I do, and I am incredibly anxious. I’m off to bathe now with a mass of bubbles, and hopefully that will ease some of my tension.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>