Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One down, several more to go.

Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004
9:48 a.m.
I did wake up at 7:00 this morning, but I managed to resume my slumber for another hour and-a-half once I used the potty. The concert was a success, even though I had to restart the program for Hubby�s piece four times. Each time I typed something cute in the text box to get us back to where we were supposed to be (it crashed twice in �my�, once in �secret� and once in �flower�) and many in the audience had no idea that I was desperately improvising. The musicians also kept improvising on their tone rows, and there were only a few savvy souls who realized we were in technical trouble. The really funny thing is that I knew exactly who those people were. The Cacci0p0 was really beautiful and In C went on for almost an hour! I couldn�t believe it when we looked at our watches after it was over. I�m afraid it was a little trying for some of the audience, but no one got up and left part-way through. It�s also very trying for me vocally, since much of it lies in the lower part of the staff between middle C and G, and that is the weakest part of my voice. Not to mention (so why am I mentioning it?) my back was aching for standing all that time, slightly stooped to sing into the microphone. Bleh.

Earlier in the day we ran our dress and tech rehearsal. It was supposed to start at 1:30, but ended up starting closer to 3:00. I finally got out of there at 5:00, made supper and ate with the kids since Hubby was still back at the ranch shooting trouble, had an hour�s lie-down until Hubby finally arrived home at 7:15, got into my black leather and makeup, and headed back to the concert hall. After the concert the musicians adjourned to our house where they drank beer, ate chips, cheese and crackers and little stuffed phylo-dough pastries which I baked in the oven for 20 minutes at 350�F. It was a nice little party.

The reception in the lobby was rather lame. The students have been doing the catering themselves and, while it�s a nice effort, it just lacks the �class� that you get when professionals do it. Also, by the time the musicians have put their instruments away, most of the food is gone. Those students have appetites! I am presuming that all my students were there, although only two came up to me afterwards with big hugs and I saw another couple stuffing their faces (see what I mean?). Anyway, it�s over and I am hoping that the fragments of the Riley eventually fade from my mental ear.

In other news, there was also a studio recital yesterday and my baritone sang his aria from La serva padr0ne very well. His Brahms, however, was not so good, and I realize we should have gone over it again before he got up on stage. He, however, had not informed me it was on the programme, which explains my being remiss here.

Also, the garage door is repaired. The guy came and replaced both springs, but warned me that the motor is likely to die at any time since they only have a life of 12 to 15 years, and ours is already 14 years old. While he was doing his job CAA (the Canadian equivalent of AAA), of which I am a member, called and tried to sell me auto insurance. As it turns out, we have just received our policy renewal notice from our present insurers, and it�s going to cost a bloody fortune. The nice man on the phone (with a charming French, not Qu�becois, accent) went through the whole thing with me, not being pushy in any way, and if we switch to CAA, we can save over half what we�re paying now. So I discussed it with Hubby, and he thinks we should do it. So first thing on Monday (well maybe not first thing, since the insurance office opens only at 10:00) I will call this nice Frenchman back and we will switch over our insurance.

I think that just about catches me up to the present. I am still not sick (fingers are figuratively crossed) although Hubby doesn�t feel all that much better. He performed last night hopped up on Tylen0l, but this morning he was still all aches and pains. He�s young (heh, heh). He�ll get over it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>