Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Women have mid-life crises too, you know.

Thursday, May 12, 2005
7:36 p.m.
I am starting to think that I have arrived at the time in my life when, if I am going to have an affair, it has to be now. I�m still attractive enough to pull it off, but all too aware that that beauty is fleeting; every day the dew of youth evaporates a bit more and the ravages of time become more apparent. I even discussed this with my daughter, saying that I felt I should have an affair except that I didn�t want to be unfaithful to her father. She helpfully suggested that Hubby and I try r�le playing, so when we arrived at the university (which is where we were headed) I slipped into his office and started acting like a student in search of a higher theory mark. It was more funny than anything else, actually, but also a little strange, since there are students who really do come on to their profs.

These feelings come at a time when my married life is better than it has ever been, when I am more-or-less content with my appearance and I find my own husband very attractive. So why am I feeling this way? From where stems this desire to be found desirable by other men, younger men, men I would probably tire of rather quickly under social, conversational circumstances? Part of the temptation comes from being surrounded most of the time by good-looking university students, one of the perks of the job, if you will. I freely admit that many of the guys in our department are stud-muffin material, some my own students, and I am only too aware that they see in me a middle-aged singing teacher, the wife of the department chair yet. Who am I trying to kid? And besides, I have no desire to cheat on my husband. So what the hell is going on?

The weather became rather wintry today. Yesterday I was wearing a sun dress and today I had on jeans and a sweatshirt topped with a coat. Walking to teach my deferred student my ears nearly froze, and crossing the bridge with the wind whipping along the water had me wishing for a hat. The forecast is for more of the same tomorrow, hopefully warming for the weekend. What a crazy climate we live in.


from tcklyrpharsn :

Ahem. I think it might be the early warning signs of what some term �a mid-life crisis�. That being said, I often think about cheating on Mark, but not actually Cheating On Mark, if you know what I mean. It�s more like Ooooo wouldn�t an affair be fun, except oops, Mark, love Mark, no, bad idea, affair bad. Affair? Affair bad.

from time2 :

�the desire to be found desirable� I think that is the key here, to some extent don�t we all have that, it just seems that some more than others have more of this desire. Wow that sounded redundant: see redundant.

from coldandgray :

Scandalous! I love your daughter�s suggestion of role playing; quite clever. The trouble with affairs is you might not regret it if you DON�T do it, but...

|

<~~~ * ~~~>