Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A mother’s plight

Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
8:27 p.m.
Hubby and I have just come back from seeing our little girl off at the bus station. She’s taking the midnight bus from Montreal and will have a two-hour wait, or thereabouts, at the station. I already keenly feel her absence, and when the bus pulled away from the platform, it was like a hole was opening up inside me.

She and I went fabric shopping yesterday afternoon. She needed lining material for a bag she had finished knitting here, and wanted to buy satin binding for a baby blanket, the recipient of which was just born last night. She finished binding it off mere hours after his arrival. I also got some remnants (they were three for the price of one) and a book of really lovely knitting patterns which are, unfortunately, all in French, and I will need to find a translation for the abbreviations.

Both of our menfolk were at the dentist yesterday afternoon, Hubby getting his second root canal completed, and Buddy Boy had one cavity filled and one wisdom tooth pulled. Neither was in particularly good spirits.

In order to remedy that situation, we went to see a movie, The Hangover, which was extremely funny. If laughter is the best medicine, then we got a very good dose. Hubby bought popcorn and Little Princess got a quantity of mixed candies to munch on during the show, which I helped her eat.

We went out to a new restaurant in town at about 9:30, and we were all very hungry. I became incredibly moody, and as soon as it was revealed that I had eaten half of Little Princess’ candy, the reason was apparent. I had crashed. Once our food arrived and I stoked the furnace, I was much more convivial.

We had one last dinner as a family tonight (one of Buddy Boy’s friends joined us at table) before taking our daughter to the bus. I really miss her, and she's only been gone for 45 minutes. I’m such a suck.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>