Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Cooler, calmer and crisper?

Thursday, June 12, 2008
1:40 p.m.
The heat has broken and even though the sun is shining and the sky is a blue reminiscent of the D’land colour, the breeze is cool. I am not complaining.

As I foresaw, kicking my mother’s boarder out is going to be the biggest obstacle to this change we are contemplating. My mother is rather fond of Frank, and he has been very good for her, providing company when he’s actually there, shopping for groceries and feeding her. But he is not in fact a paying tenant and, as such, is my mother’s guest. His living in her upstairs is totally contingent on her living there in the house, too. If she is leaving, it is not reasonable for Frank to expect that he can stay on, especially with his non-rent-paying status. That’s just ridiculous.

My mother launched into a lecture on the phone yesterday of how he doesn’t earn very much and rents in T.O. are expensive and he’d need to find a place, and since Little Princess and the BF wouldn’t be using the upstairs, why couldn’t he stay? I said outright no, he can’t stay, the young couple deserve their privacy and shouldn’t have to be responsible for a third person in the house, especially one who is not contributing financially. I think my mom was a little ticked off at me, but she seems to have forgotten it, calling me this morning to look up her dentist’s telephone number.

Hubby and I go to NY for a long weekend tomorrow. We’ll be visiting our friends who live there and so yesterday I bought HatIey clothing for the whole family: T-shirts and matching umbrellas for their little girls and sleep sets for the adults. Moose, bears, frogs and dogs. I love their stuff.

So, I won’t be around for a few days. Have a good weekend, everyone.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>