Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

This won�t hurt a bit!

Tuesday, July 12, 2005
11:16 a.m.
The CLSC just called to say they�ve had a cancellation and I can go today at 1 p.m. to have those things excised from my back. Well, that�s sudden. It doesn�t give me much of an opportunity to get uptight now, does it? Well, does it?

I finished printing out the score at Hubby�s office this morning and have fired up the Quadra in order to start correcting the errors he�s found from the first proofreading. I must be a terrible music copyist. Every single page is riddled with red pen marks. Am I that inattentive? Maybe I should get my eyes checked (again). I know that the presbyopia is happening fast and furiously now. A few months ago I had no problem focusing on details, now I�m starting to feel seriously handicapped. The tiny print on the backs of products listing ingredients is becoming impossible to see clearly, and if it�s printed with shiny ink or in low contrast colours, I�m at a serious disadvantage.

Hubby has been going through this for a while now. He got those progressive lenses which are supposed to be better than bi-focals, but they make him sick. He can use them for driving, but when it comes to close work he cannot coordinate the head and eye movements necessary to look through different parts of the lenses. So he uses his old glasses and just lifts them off to look at small stuff. Proofreading music is a killer though. My document size is 11" x 17", but in order to print it onto legal-size paper, it has been reduced to 77%, and the result is tiny. So he has now resorted to using a magnifying glass while he works. See? There are solutions.

In different news, the diefenbachia plant that I rescued during this entry has finally started to exhibit an interest in filling the negative space around it. I had it sitting water for over a year with no visible effect, finally planting it in dirt trusting that it would eventually send out roots, which it apparently has, because there is now a long, green sprout coming off the top. I feel vindicated.

Okay, to work and then to be exorcised.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>