Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

More booze!

Friday, Dec. 12, 2008
8:22 p.m.
You know what really makes me angry? I imbibe very little alcohol. I like a glass of red wine with a meal, a cold beer on a hot day, and perhaps a shot of something that burns going down when I have a sore throat. I am not the kind of person who has to have a drink when she gets home from work. I will go for weeks without touching a drop. I don’t miss it, and when I really need a buzz, a small dosage is usually sufficient.

Every so often I will buy a bottle of something appealing when I am in a liquor store. The problem is that I don’t drink the purchased beverage right away. I put it in the liquor cabinet (actually the cupboard above the stove in the kitchen, one which I have to climb on a stool to reach) for when I want it, which may be months hence.

Tonight was such an occasion. I reached for the bottle of VerMeer chocolate liqueur I bought in Toronto last summer, only to find about a teaspoonful left inside. I don’t think I had more than three tiny glassfuls from the whole bottle, and yet here it was, practically empty. So I combined it with an Irish creme-type of liqueur that our Serbian violist friend gave Hubby for his birthday, feeling perfectly justified, since he’s the one who drinks my booze. He will say that it’s not my booze, but if I buy it for myself and then there’s none left when I finally get around to having some, am I supposed to be happy about it? I think not!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>